h1

Likkun’s Spring 2007 Schedule

Alright, for those interested. Here’s my CURRENT list of shows on my Spring Schedule. Things will be dropped as I see fit and are mostly decided by my Spring 2007 Survival posts. All of these series listed are only the ones I’ve seen, or are quite actively approaching. They’ll shift from category to category unless they’ve been either dropped or placed at the top tier. So, these are what you’ll be seeing and maybe what you’ll be seeing reviewed every so often. Regular reviews don’t seem to be my forte…

The Untouchables: “Those that cannot be kicked off”

Hayate no Gotoku!
Official Site: http://hayatenogotoku.com/
Airing Time in Japan: Sundays at 10:00 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Saturdays at 8:00 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: I’m a huge fan of the Hayate manga. Since I expect this series to follow it carefully, I think that it will prove to be a humorous and enjoyable series this season. This is my most anticipated series of this season and the CV casting seems to be right on.

Lucky Star
Official Site: http://www.lucky-ch.com/
Airing Time in Japan: Mondays at 12:00 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Sundays at 10:00 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: KyoAni’s busywork until they finish Clannad and the second season of Haruhi. With the talent they hired and the overall humor of the 4Koma, this should be good fun. Hopefully this doesn’t upset me like Hidamari Sketch did, I really expect more of this. Once again, I’m pretty big on the manga, so I’ll consider this my runner up to Hayate no Gotoku!

Idolmaster XENOGLOSSIA
Official Site: http://www.sunrise-inc.co.jp/idolmaster/
Airing Time in Japan: Tuesdays at 2:30 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Mondays at 12:30 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: Idolmaster is one of those shows that a guy just can’t overlook. Taking a popular Japanese arcade game involving girls being pop idols and adding mecha into the mix sounds completely retarded. But this is by the same people who brought you Mai-Hime/Otome so they’re rather used to this formula. Girls and mecha always seem to be a recipe for sheer hotness, so I don’t see why I can’t enjoy this.

The Rising Stars: “Those that desire invincibility…”

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha StrikerS
Official Site: http://www.nanoha.com/
Airing Time in Japan: Mondays at 1:10 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Sundays at 11:10 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: I’ve become a big fan of Carol upon looking over this series. Aside from that, I don’t see a reason not to watch this series after seeing the first two seasons (series, whatever). The sheer ass kicking that these girls do is something that I can’t skip up on.

Hitohira
Official Site: http://www.hitohira.tv/
Airing Time in Japan: Wednesdays at 11:00 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Tuesdays at 9:00 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: Hitohira has proved that I’m still a Shoujo nut. This series has been kicking me up everytime it rolls around and it seems to be drawing close to earning a place as an untouchable for me. Mugi and her constant bouts of panic are too amusing to miss out on.

Seto no Hanayome
Official Site: http://www.setonohanayome.com/
Airing Time in Japan: Mondays at 2:00 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Sundays at 12:00 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: I wanted to set the record straight that I have issues with Seiji Kishi. But for some reason, I always find myself trying to get into his series. Seto no Hanayome may be the ticket due to the fact the artwork is decent and San is cute as a button. Not only that but it has a great opening that has had me dancing around like it was actually Summer in the midwest and not 40 degrees fahrenheit.

Romeo x Juliet
Official Site: http://www.romejuli.jp/
Airing Time in Japan: Thursdays at 1:45 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Wednesdays at 11:45 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: Everybody must have read Romeo and Juliet at least once in their life. If not, then you know how the story works. OMG THE ENDING IS RUINED. But aside from that, this looks like it’ll change things up…quite a bit actually. Oh, and Benvolio better do something totally kick ass or get a girl. Mainly because that’s who I played when my class performed the play.

Kishin Taisen Gigantic Formula
Official Site: http://www.gigantic-f.com/
Airing Time in Japan: Thursdays at 1:50 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Wednesdays at 11:50 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: The sheer mecha overload and action of this series looks really awesome. Despite the awkward character designs, it’s hard not to look forward to the amount of battle scenes and other crap going on. With all the amazing designers of about every big mecha series getting to do their own robot, it should be a blast to see how they all fight. I’m sure they’re going to have fun pulling out all the stops on eachother.

Darker than BLACK-Kuro no Keiyakusha-
Official Site: http://www.d-black.net/
Airing Time in Japan: Fridays at 1:25 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Thursdays at 11:25 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: Darker than Black seems to be an impressive series. The man in the strange mask running around in the first episode reminded me of Batman for some reason. And you just can’t beat a supernatural feel mixing in with a crazy masked Batman. I’m sure he’s more than just rich, but whatever I’m going to say he’s Batman. There’s a lot of appeal to this show, and it’s definitely looking to be more then just a replacement in the GEASS time slot.

The Average: “Just keeping themsleves from dying…”

Heroic Age
Official Site: http://www.starchild.co.jp/special/heroicage/
Airing Time in Japan: Mondays at 1:30 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Sundays at 11:30 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: Since I already am crazy about Gigantic Formula and Idolmaster, this is really a second runner in terms of mecha series. It’s not that the plot doesn’t intrigue me or that the action isn’t great, but the other series seem to be appealing to me quite a bit more. I probably won’t drop this series, but I don’t think you’ll see me talking about it unless it has some devastating awesome points later on.

El Cazador de la Bruja
Official Site: http://www.elcazador.tv/
Airing Time in Japan: Tuesdays at 1:30 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Mondays at 11:30 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: This series isn’t starting off too strong, so it isn’t really worth much to me right now. It has some interesting characters and a possibly good plot that hasn’t shown up yet. Hopefully things pick up because this series can probably go down the right track if done right.

Kissdum -ENGAGE planet-
Official Site: http://www.kissdum.com/
Airing Time in Japan: Wednesdays at 1:00 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Tuesdays at 11:00 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: Yet another average looking mecha series. The mecha designs are by Shoji Kawamori, so you’d feel like you were watching Macross 7 with bugs as the enemies. There are some interesting faces and some pretty interesting CV casting at the same time. I don’t have any real reason to really drop this series or keep it on a top priority right now.

Claymore
Official Site: http://www.ntv.co.jp/claymore/
Airing Time in Japan: Wednesdays at 1:26 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Tuesdays at 11:26 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thougts: This action gem seems to have the good old fashioned violence we all enjoy. Despite that, I’m still waiting for the story to pick up a bit. The cliche innocent boy as the main male lead kind of threw me for a loop and I’m hoping it doesn’t focus on him too much. Aside from that, the action sequences will be the one that sets this series apart from the rest. Oh, and MADHOUSE is the one keeping me on this one’s hide.

Sisters of Wellber
Official Site: http://www.avexmovie.jp/lineup/wellber/
Airing Time in Japan: Wednesdays at 2:43 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Tuesdays at 12:43 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: This series suprised me with some interesting characters, light hearted humor, and amount of action. It’s not the strongest series in the world, but there’s a lot of interesting aspects to it. If anything keeps me watching this though, it’s probably because of the cast of characters in it. They seem to keep the show chugging along for me.

Shinkyouku Soukai Polyphonica
Official Site: http://www.polyphonica.tv/
Airing Time in Japan: Wednesdays at 4:15 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Tuesdays at 2:15 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: The idea of musical warfare is probably what got me watching this show. While the cast of characters is a little dry right now, this show seems like it may pick up after awhile. There was only an introduction of the main character so far, so we’ll see what develops as things move along.

Nagasarete Airantou
Official Site: http://www.starchild.co.jp/special/airantou/
Airing Time in Japan: Thursdays at 1:20 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Wednesdays at 11:20 a.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: The fact of this being a harem still has me terribly iffy about it. But it seems to be based off a pretty succesful manga and the CV cast is suprisingly good. With the light hearted feel to it, I guess it’s about time that I gave a normal harem another chance. This just might be the one to turn me around.

On Rock Bottom: “The series that struggle to climb back up…”

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann
Official Site: http://www.gurren-lagann.net/
Airing Time in Japan: Sundays at 8:30 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Saturdays at 6:30 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: This highly Shounen mecha series is something that I can’t really adjust to. The mecha action is humorous as well as good but there’s A LOT of mecha series that appeal to me more. While this might be a nice humorous break compared to the others, I’d rather watch Idolmaster for something like that. The designs are a little awkward and the girl providing the constant fanservice is too early morning television for me. Frankly, with Hayate no Gotoku! around the same time of early television, I’d rather just have that as my really Shounen series right now.

Touka Gettan
Official Site: http://www.avexmovie.jp/lineup/momotsuki/
Airing Time in Japan: Tuesdays at 1:30 a.m.
Airing Time in U.S.: Mondays at 11:30 a.m.
Likkun’s Thoughts: This series really confused me with it’s first episode. It’s a good thing to make an elaborate plot but it’s another thing to just throw it at someone like a cold fish. I felt like I just got nailed by a flying, half-frozen salmon after watching this. It was well animated, had good music, but I didn’t know WHAT THE FUCK WAS GOING ON. I’m sure this series will recover later on, but right now it seems to be a little on the strange side.

Kono Aozora ni Yakusoku wo~Youkosou-gumi Ryou e~
Official Site: http://www.konnyaku.tv/
Airing Time in Japan: Wednesdays at 2:15 a.m. JST
Airing Time in U.S.: Tuesdays at 12:15 p.m. CST
Likkun’s Thoughts: This appears to be a PRETTY cut and dry romance/harem/angst anime. Everything is really in that overly drama box and all the girls are perfectly stereotypically built for it that it’s obnoxious. I’d really enjoy more of the relaxed style of Airantou then this, so this isn’t looking like it’ll live to see the light at the end of the tunnel. But who knows, maybe something amazing will sprout from the ground and save this series but I’m thinking no.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: