h1

Spring 2007 Survival: Group 2 – Week 3

April 20, 2007

GAII:MKnK pre-orders start tommorow. I think I need to skip school to celebrate this awesome of awesome events. But now I need money…

What? I’m getting slower you say? Well, you’re right because I always like to put off Group 2. The reason for that may or may not be obvious. Even Group 3 gets down faster and that has a ton of series in it. But that’s of little importance right now. If you like watching me NOT talk about Group 2 again, then you’ve come to the right place.

In the realm of EXCITING news, I plan (KEYWORD: PLAN) on writing an actual article tommorow. What is it you ask? For those of you who remember the “15 Girls Likkun will never meet, ever” post from awhile back, then it’s similar to that. Just with a different kind of approach in selecting characters.

Touka Gettan

Awards: Most Fucked Up Scene, EVER

Week 1: Strike
Week 2: Strike
Week 3: Neutral

WHAT? A “neutral” you say? Yeah, that’s right Touka Gettan did something this week that I didn’t see coming. FANSERVICE. And lots of it. Not that I’m only giving it a neutral for fanservice but also because it may or may not be making more sense. Either way, I seemed to have given up either way and found that everything else aside from plot in this anime is entertaining. Now, we should talk about the FUCKED UP scene in this episode. Touka…what IN THE HELL were you doing with your mother? Seriously, I could appreciate the other scenes like this they’ve had but I really could have been spared this. After watching that scene, I really wanted to know what I was watching again.

El Cazador de la Bruja

Awards: Amnesia

Week 1: Neutral
Week 2: Strike
Week 3: Strike

Well, let’s see here. The amnesia award doesn’t go to a character in this series…but me. I can’t remember half of what happened in this episode so I assume that I must have either fallen asleep again or completely not cared for what happened. Either way, it’s pretty darn sad. Maybe this is just like Gurren Lagann, where’s it’s just not a series that was built for someone like me. But either way, this episode didn’t settle in too well with me, for obvious reasons.

Idolmaster XENOGLOSSIA

Awards: Humor, Simplicity

Week 1: Neutral
Week 2: Save
Week 3: Neutral

Idolmaster this week seemed to drop down a bit in terms of material. It went down the Heroic Age route of having some action, a lot of humor, and a lot of simple minded jokes. While I’m not against any of these things, none of it was especially pleasing. The jokes were more common and cute then actually laugh inspiring. The action was really minimal and not that exciting to watch in comparison with last episode. Basically we got introduced further to what was going on, which wasn’t bad. Plot advancement is needed eventually but it wasn’t anything awe inspiring. Hopefully next week will be another good episode.

Kissdum -ENGAGE planet-

Awards: No Action Drop, Psychopath

Week 1: Neutral
Week 2: Save
Week 3: Save

This week was yet another improvement upon Kissdum. Things were a lot less chaotic in transitions yet again and there was absolutely NO drop in the amount of action. Seriously, does this show ever stop with the fighting? I didn’t think it was possible to open a series with this much combat. Honestly I wish some series could take a lesson from Kissdum and put some more action in their routine, it’s not bad you know. Aside from that, Daisuke Ono is my new favorite psychopath. Honestly when I saw that Aiba (Daisuke Ono’s character) was a little nuts, I was worried. What they hell could Mr. I’m A Gay Esper do? Well he plays a pretty damn good psychopath, I’ll tell you that. He’s need to do his evil, maniacal, cackling voice more often.

Claymore

Awards: Actual Action

Week 1: Neutral
Week 2: Neutral
Week 3: Neutral

A small improvement over next week, and much like the first episode. A lot of dialogue but not so much in the action department. I did enjoy what I saw action wise, but it’s not enough to keep me pumped about this series. Frankly, I expected this to be more like Kissdum from the impressions that people made on me. Didn’t happen though, and I’m a little less than excited about this show now. Since there’s other dark, violent series like Darker than Black out there, I think this is jumping to the bottom of my priorities list.

Kono Aozora ni Yakusoku wo~Youkosou-gumi Ryou e~

Awards: Not Getting any Better

Week 1: Strike
Week 2: Strike
Week 3: Strike

Okay. Let me clear this up now. This will be my only joke about the VT accident this week, promise! But I’m thinking this show must have driven are crazy mad rampaging Asian crazy. People, DO NOT WATCH THIS SHOW. You may be forced into going rampant in your own school if you decide to watch this. Honestly, everything in this show is so bad and so obvious that it’s laughable. If you don’t find anything funny in this season, then maybe you could have by mocking this show. Or maybe you’ll go Higurashi crazy and decide to do some curse killing. Okay, bad joke timing is out of my system now.

Sisters of Wellber

Awards: Bored

Week 1: Neutral
Week 2: Neutral
Week 3: Neutral

Once again, this series fails to get me hooked at all. This is above El Cazador right now but definitely below Claymore. I think a few things in this show are well done but it only goes so far when the plot isn’t exciting. Actually, both El Cazador and this feature two females running from someone. At least I don’t fall asleep during this and this show has some humor to it that I never quite laugh at. Plus, when you have Thomas the Talking Tank Engine, you can’t really not laugh at how ridiculous this show is. So I guess I may choose between girls and guns or girl and talking tanks. That or I’ll screw both over because I really don’t care.

Shinkyouku Soukai Polyphonica

Awards: SAXOPHONE!…I think

Week 1: Neutral
Week 2: Strike
Week 3: Neutral

This episode wasn’t really bad like last week and it probably held my interest more so than anything else. I don’t know what keeps me watching this show but something about it is amusing. The quality isn’t perfect and it’s kind of weird but it doesn’t seem to take itself too seriously. While I wouldn’t really tell anyone else to watch this, you may be like me and find some kind of way to enjoy this. Plus the guy has some crazy saxophone type instrument to use his powers. I mean, it’s so awesome that I really wished such a thing could work in real life. Which I’m pretty positive couldn’t happen, but a musician can dream about such things.

Conclusion
Well, it may not be worse but it’s not getting any better. This just means that I can mercilessly go at series come the end of the week. I really think that some unexpected ones initially will be staying around while some expected stays may be going. The tides have really turned since my first impression of certain series, which is EXACTLY why I do this kind of thing.

Well, hopefully my promised article will be up tommorow. If not, then I’ll do it for Saturday and have Group 3 on Sunday. There’s plenty of things I want to report on, but always so little time to do it in. I’m just glad that this group is over again.

3 comments

  1. yokoso, how about Hayate no gotoku and Nagasarete airantou? i not see this anime review in your blog 🙂


  2. Nagasarete Airantou is in Group 3 and Hayate no Gotoku is in Group 1. Once I get out of this Spring Survival Phase, then I’ll start giving real reviews. I did one real review of Hayate no Gotoku’s first episode but it was on the previous blog. You can check back at previous weeks if you want to see mini-reviews. Yadda yadda.


  3. oh thx, i forgot to make Hayate and Nagasarete review in my blog 🙂



Leave a Reply

